Fan-Cast: Powers, part 1

powersAs you may recall, when the (re-)casting news for the upcoming, live-action version of the “Powers” comic series was announced back in August, I posted my gripes about what was wrong with the new casting choices. In short, they just seemed all wrong, based on the characters’ appearances in the comics. I also gave suggestions off the top of my head for who would be better casting for three major roles. Well, now that I’ve had some more time to research and think it over, I have come up with candidates for all of the central, recurring roles — at least, for the first several issues. I’ll begin with the central two: Detectives Christian Walker and Deena Pilgrim.

Det. Walker, of course, is the strong, (often) silent type — a straight-arrow who plays pretty much by the book. Very tall, lantern-jawed, with a beefy, muscular physique, he’s a rather imposing figure. Granted, there is some exaggeration in Oeming’s artistic style. But, I’ve always figured Walker stands well over 6′, especially since he is consistently portrayed as head and neck (and maybe shoulders) taller than his partner, Det. Pilgrim. As for Pilgrim, I peg her at 5’6″ or less. You do the math. Age-wise, I think Walker is supposed to look roughly in his mid-30s to early 40s, whereas Pilgrim is probably 30ish — well, early 30s. (Of course, I am referring to their approximate ages in the first couple story arcs. On the other hand, though they age a few years over the course of the series, they probably wouldn’t look any different (especially Walker).)

Deena Pilgrim flashing shieldChristian Walker with gun

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

Patrick Warburton

Patrick Warburton

In the previously mentioned post, I suggested Patrick Warburton (6’2.5″,b.1964) of “The Tick”, “Friends”, and “Rules of Engagement” fame for Walker. He has a great look and voice for this genre. (He has done lots of voicework, too.) Warburton is actually both the shortest and oldest of the candidates here. He’s still in pretty good shape, but he did turn 50 this year, so he’s probably not the best choice.

 

 

Brandon Molale

Brandon Molale

It wasn’t all that long ago that I recommended Brandon Molale (6’4″,b.1971) (“True Blood”, “Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.”, “Granite Flats”) for another role. Well, I think he fits this one pretty well, too — tall, dark, handsome, good physique, etc. He’s on the upper end of our preferred age range, but that shouldn’t be a problem.

 

 

 

Johann Urb

Johann Urb

Johann Urb (6’4″,b.1977) (2012, “Eastwick”, Resident Evil: Retribution) is in his late 30s, which is smack dab in the middle of our preferred age range. He is blonde, so he’d need a bit of hair dye, but he has a fairly muscular physique. Still, his general look may be a bit too… Nordic or Germanic. (Ironically, he was born in Estonia but grew up in Finland.)

 

 

 

Daniel Cudmore

Daniel Cudmore

Fans of the X-Men movies probably recognize Daniel Cudmore (6’6or7or8″,b.1981) as the character Colossus, though he has also appeared in things like “Fringe”, “Halo 4”, and The Twilight Saga. He towers over most other actors, so he would definitely be head-and-shoulders over Pilgrim. He also has the dark hair, handsome features, and he is quite athletic. Cudmore is at the young end of our preferred age range, but not by enough to make much difference.

 

 
While considering candidates for Pilgrim, I mostly kept them to actresses 5’6″ and under, but one is a little taller. I also admit that I pretty much stuck to those whom I had already seen with short, light blonde hairstyles. Obviously, hair color and style can change for women, just as it does for men. But, it’s easier to picture someone in the role, if they’ve already sported the look. (Plus, not being adept at Photoshop, I can’t modify images of my own.)

Valorie Curry

Valorie Curry

Valorie Curry (5’4″,b.1986) was the actress I suggested in my earlier “Powers” post. She has been seen in “Veronica Mars”, The Twilight Saga, and most recently as a regular in “The Following”. She’s kind of short, cute, sassy, and looks good in a short haircut. Oh, and we also know that she can play a tough, no-nonsense character. That’s probably why she was the first one I thought of for Pilgrim, though I don’t know if she’s the best candidate, since she’s just slightly younger than I pictured.

 

 

Whitney Able

Whitney Able

The thing I remember seeing Whitney Able (5’7.75″,b.1982) in was the movie Monsters, with her then boyfriend Scoot McNairy. Of course, she has been in other movies (including Abelar: Tales of an Ancient Empire with Kevin Sorbo) and appeared in TV series. She’s quite attractive, and I thought she looked great with the short, platinum locks. Able is the right age but a bit on the tall side.

 

 

Brea Grant

Brea Grant

Brea Grant (5’2″,b.1981) is a shorty with a lot of spunk and a nice figure to boot. I became aware of her when she played Daphne on “Heroes”. She has appeared in lots of genre fare, including Battle Planet, “A Good Knight’s Quest”, and “Dexter”. Grant also lent her likeness to Alan Robert’s horror comic series, “Killogy”. Her being extra short would make the size difference with Det. Walker even greater. I think she could make a fine Deena Pilgrim.

 

 

Hannah Spearritt

Hannah Spearritt

When I first saw Hannah Spearritt (5’4″,b.1981) on the British TV series “Primeval”, I immediately developed a crush on her. She is just gorgeous, and the cute blonde ‘do made her even more adorable as Abby. Prior to “Primeval”, she starred in Seed of Chucky; and, thanks to her role in Agent Cody Banks 2, we know she can kick butt, too. (Well, I guess her stunt double helped.) In any case, Spearritt has the desired physical characteristics, age, and has played in “action” roles before. She’d be great as our spunky Det. Pilgrim!

 

There ought to be at least one of the twelve possible combinations — assuming we leave out Warburton — that would have sufficient onscreen chemistry. (Note: Cudmore and Grant were both in the movie The Baytown Outlaws.) I’m pretty sure these actors are all sufficiently talented to handle these roles, too. So, why go with Sharlto Copley and Susan Heyward, for cryin’ out loud?! Smh.

Next week, we’ll look at a few of the “powers” who figure prominently into some of the early story arcs….

Wassup?

